Top Ad unit 728 × 90

 

Statewide Ban on Cellphone while Driving in Vermont Effective Oct 1



It is soon going to be a primary offence if you pick up your cellphone while driving in Vermont. The new law takes effect starting Oct 1, 2014.

Vermont joins an array of other states to ban on using hand-held electronic devices while driving. The standard fine is $100 for a first offense and up to $500 for subsequent offenses.

This is very welcoming news for people who value public safety over personal choice.  The Vermont Legislature passed the measure earlier this year, but gave drivers time to learn about the ban before it kicked in.

Vermont has banned texting while driving since 2010, but police say that law has been difficult to enforce because drivers can still legally dial their phones, and it’s hard to tell the difference between texting and punching in a phone number.

The new ban covers all portable electronic devices, including music players and laptop computers.
Hands-free use is permitted under the law. Drivers can use their phones on Bluetooth, for example, as long as they don’t touch them.

Vermont law already bans junior drivers from using cellphones, both hand-held and hands-free, and that isn’t changing.

For the latest regulation on texting and cellphone use by state, check out this website: link

Statewide Ban on Cellphone while Driving in Vermont Effective Oct 1 Reviewed by Brandon on 10:33 PM Rating: 5

No comments:

All Rights Reserved by Commuter Online © 2014 - 2015

Contact Form

Name

Email *

Message *

Powered by Blogger.